Texas has the 2nd most drivers in the nation
Total Licensed Drivers in Texas – 13,498,071 – Texas is ranked second with almost 13.5 million licensed drivers.
Texas Major & Minor Violations
There are two types of major and minor violations made by people in Texas. Texas Defensive Driving course can be used to dismiss tickets after successfully completing the course or reduce points for taking the course.
Here are some examples of major violations and associated fines and additional punishments based on Texas laws. Major offenses if found guilty have severe consequences from jail time to additional fines. We recommend you contact an attorney for legal counseling.
|Driving Without License
||Additional fees such as towing fees, surcharges, license reinstatement fees, etc.
|Driving While Intoxicated (DWI)*
||For 1st time offense. 90 days to 1-year license suspension. Minimum 3 days – up to 180 days in jail.
|Hit & Run
||Up to $5,000 and a maximum of up to 5 years in jail.
||Up to $10,000 in fines and 2 – 20 years in jail.
||Up to $200 and 30 days in jail.
*Texas law for blood alcohol concentration at .08 is considered legally intoxicated and is not permitted to drive. We recommend you consider getting an uber or lift if you consume any alcohol. DWI laws are very strict and can cause damage to you, your family, your property and others when drinking and driving. Please drive safely and drink responsibly.
Minor Violation Fines
- Speeding – $150 (depending on the speed limit of the municipality).
- Failure to stop for a school bus – $200 to $1,000 for the 1st offense. Repeat offense may result in license suspension.
- Disabled Parking Space – up to $500 in fines.
- Click it or Ticket It Texas Wear A Seat Belt Program – $50 to $200 (depending on the age of unbelted passengers in the vehicle).
- Disobeying railroad crossing signs – $50 to $200 fine.
WHAT ARE MY OPTIONS WHEN I GET A TICKET?
Minor violations have the following options for consideration based on what the courts approve:
- Pay the fine
- Fight the violation in court
- Attend traffic school to dismiss the ticket (court needs to approve this).
Most Common Reasons Officers Use To Issue Traffic Tickets – Texas Transportation Code that Texas police use to issue traffic tickets.
- Sec. 545.351 – MAXIMUM SPEED REQUIREMENT
- Sec. 545.352 – PRIMA FACIE SPEED LIMITS
- Sec. 544.010 – STOP SIGNS AND YIELD SIGNS
- Sec. 545.157 – PASSING AUTHORIZED EMERGENCY VEHICLE
- Sec. 548.602 – FAILURE TO DISPLAY INSPECTION CERTIFICATE
- Sec. 548.605 – DISMISSAL OF CHARGE; ADMINISTRATIVE FEE
- Sec. 601.051 – REQUIREMENT OF FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY
- Sec. 601.191 – OPERATION OF MOTOR VEHICLE IN VIOLATION OF MOTOR VEHICLE LIABILITY INSURANCE REQUIREMENT
Most Ticketed Vehicle
After analyzing 1.7 million driver tickets by a road & safety counsel the year-long study found the following 10 cars drivers received the most tickets:
Most Ticketed Vehicles
- Hummer H2/H3
- Scion tC
- Scion XB
- Mercedes Benz CLK63 AMG
- Toyota Solara Coupe
- Mercedes Benz CLS63 AMG
- Scion XA
- Subaru Outback
- Audi A4
- Toyota Matrix
“Click It or Ticket” Texas
Statistically, 63% of people killed in a car crash were not wearing a seat belt. Seat belts save over 13,000 lives in the United States each year. This is the most effective way to reduce auto injuries during a car crash.
Texas has enacted the Primary Seat Belt Law. Allowing an officer to give you a ticket for not wearing a seat belt. To learn more, visit Click It or Ticket – Texas.
Did you get a traffic ticket in Texas? If so, we can help – take the Texas Defensive Driving course — click here!